Edna supports the Altevette Project

Help raise funds for the girls of the Altevette Project

Edna Stephens is a well-known resident in Lemsford parish and has provided fund raising events over many years including Jazz on the island and her annual Easter egg hunt. She is now raising funds for the Altevette Project.

Help raise funds for the girls of the Altevette Project.

Please help us to provide some warm clothing for the girls and their teachers. We have 53 girls and 9 teachers and will be visiting the school at the end of October. If you have any new or good condition, clean warm clothes such as leggings, tracksuit trousers, joggers, hats, scarfs & gloves please be kind enough to donate. We will carry them with us when we go to Nepal at the end of October. As we fund all our trips ourselves (we don't take expenses from donated monies) we will be limited in our baggage allowance so no heavy items such as shoes please. A drop off box will be available at 13 Lemsford Village AL8 7TN and we will collect several times during October. Learn More

Info from Edna 01707 321 802

LLHG 2001 to Present Day

At Our first meeting in 2001 we elected Revd. Ron Ingamells as Chairman its aim was to study all aspects of the history and the people of this area - both ancient and modern. On passed on the chair to local man Jeremy Summers a retired film director who lived in Cromer Hyde. In 2007 Joan Baraclough a long time member carried on the good work the previous chairman’s had built up with a comprehensive archive collected and collated by late Stan Borrie. Stan’s son Richard built a website for the group. When Joan stepped down in 2011 long term member and local man Andy Chapman became chairman, He continued on the same guidelines, developing the website and overseeing various publications, the regular meetings and the odd trip out. I was during this period we started the annual quiz with Welwyn District History Group which continues to the Day. In 2017 Pete Davis became our 5th Chairman and has continued with the quiz, village fete and regular meetings up to the present time

  • Revd. Ron Ingamells 2001 - 2002
  • Jeremy Summers 2002 - 2007
  • Joan Baraclough 2007 - 2011
  • Andy Chapman 2011 - 2017
  • Pete Davis 2017 - 2018
  • Andy Chapman 2018 - Present Day